Juveniles in Municipal Court
- If you are 16 years of age or younger and received a citation, your parent / guardian will be sent a letter of notice to appear in court with you before the Municipal Court Judge. This is required by state law. I
- f you fail to appear, a notice will be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety to suspend your driver’s license or prohibit you from getting one. Also, an order can be issued for a marshal to take you into custody from school or home until a parent can appear with you.
The one and only exception is if you have been issued a citation for a dismissible violation: (i.e. Fail to Maintain Financial Responsibility, Expired MVR, Expired MVI, Expired Driver’s License, Fail to Display Driver’s License or Defective Equipment). You may present the required proof of compliance with any applicable dismissal fee at the court clerk’s counter before court. Please refer to the back of the citation for compliance deadlines and proof requirements.
You must wear appropriate attire in the courtroom. Cell phones should be turned off or left on silent
If you have any questions / concerns regarding any of this information, please feel free to call the juvenile case manager at 972-547-7642.
Community Service Information
If you have been granted the opportunity to complete community service in lieu of paying cash for the fine or fees for your case, those hours must be completed at a non-profit organization or government agency.
We do not accept “two for one” hours. Some examples of locations would be a school, church, or city / county offices. If you need an additional form to keep track of your community service, please see the link below.
For more information on locations to work, or group projects done through our court, email Contact-Courts@McKinneyTexas.org.
Driver’s Safety Course
If you are going to request that the Judge allow you to take the Driver’s Safety Course (DSC), please bring the following items with you to court:
- $169.00 (court costs) for offenses occurring in a school zone; $144.00 for other offenses
- Proof of Insurance
- Valid Texas Driver’s License
Deferred is an unsupervised probationary period. The judge will set the amount of time, up to 180 days, of probation. If you are able to comply with this and all other conditions set forth by the judge, you will need to bring back a statement of compliance within 15 days of the end of your deferral period, notifying the court that you did not receive any other citations or school referrals or commit a criminal offense. You should receive this in court. If you misplace this, please contact the court. We will be able to mail one to you, or you may come in person during our normal business hours to sign.
Be aware, if you comply with everything but forget to turn this paper in, the offense will go as a conviction on your record.
Tobacco & Alcohol Offenses
If you are 17 years of age and have been issued a citation for Possession of a Tobacco Product, you are required by state law to appear and enter a plea before a Municipal Court Judge. It is your responsibility to come to an open docket court date. If this is not done, or you do not appear, warrants may be issued for your arrest.
If you are 17-20 years of age or younger and have been issued a citation for an alcohol violation (i.e. Minor DUI, Minor in Possession, Minor in Consumption, Public Intoxication) you are required by state law to appear and enter a plea before a Municipal Court judge. It is your responsibility to come to an open docket court date. If this is not done, or you do not appear, warrants may be issued for your arrest.
All other violations may be handled according to the information on your citation. If you have questions, please contact the court at 972-547-7676.
Alcohol & Tobacco Awareness Courses
One of the state-mandated requirements for all juveniles and minors who receive alcohol or tobacco violations is to take a state-certified awareness course.
If you come to court and are found guilty by a judge, your case cannot be released to anyone but you, your parents and a few select government agencies. If you are placed on deferred disposition and your case is dismissed, your case file is considered to be an open record.
You may be entitled to an expunction of the records involving your case. Expunction means a complete destruction of anything associated with your case.
- For a single alcohol conviction, you may petition this court for an expunction after your 21st birthday
- For tobacco convictions, you may petition this court for expunction after your 18th birthday
- For a single conviction for a Failure to Attend School violation, you may petition this court for an expunction after your 18th birthday
- For a single conviction of any other non-traffic violation, you may petition this court for expunction after your 17th birthday
The cost of an expunction is a minimum of $30. If you have questions concerning the right to, need for or consequences of expunction, please consult a licensed attorney.
Juvenile Expunction Forms and Information
- Application for Expunction: Alcohol
- Application for Expunction: Failure to Attend School
- Application for Expunction: Penal Offenses
- Application for Expunction: Tobacco
- Expunction Order
- Notice of Juvenile Expunction Rights